B.Sc Microbiology is a Four year Bachelor course of Tribhuvan University. Every year around 700 students get B.Sc degree majoring in microbiology from 25 colleges of TU of which 8 are constituents and rests are TU affiliated colleges.

Microbiology is the study of microbes (organisms too small to be seen by the naked eye) and the way they interact with humans, animals, plants and the environment. Microbiology is not a single subject, and it has applications in different fields. In general, microbiologists study microscopic organisms, which are organisms too small to see with the naked eye. There are many types of microscopic organisms so microbiologists tend to specialize in one certain field within microbiology creating many types of microbiologists. Microbiologists study these microorganisms learning about their ecology, their survival, how they affect us and how we can utilize them.


Students must have to complete +2 examination with Biological stream with minimum Grade (C) in all the subjects to be eligible for BSC microbiology program in TU.

Students have following option for major microbiology

  1. Microbiology+Botany+ Chemistry
  2. Microbiology+ Zoology+ Chemistry